STREAKING IS MOTIVATING

Today felt like a really long day. I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with the VA this morning trying to straighten out some paperwork so they will pay for dad’s hospitalization. I got basically no where…except I know who can’t help me. I guess that’s something.

My brother and I had a meeting with our lawyer for a Zoom probate court hearing at 1:30. I drove into town early in order to pay dad’s funeral expenses – we finally got his life insurance check over the weekend. As I pulled out of the funeral home parking lot, I started feeling really odd. I’m pretty sure I had double vision and my brain just wasn’t focusing. I thought to myself, “You have to pull off the road or you are going to wreck.” Fortunately, there was a fairly empty parking lot right there, so I pulled into it. By the time I got parked, I was back to normal, but I sat there for a couple of minutes just to be sure.

Something similar happened here at the house a couple of weeks ago. Since I was here, I took my blood pressure and it was fine. I did mention it to the doctor last week, and he didn’t seem too concerned. He thought maybe I was dehydrated. Don’t you hate it when that is their go to answer? That’s what they told my dad a couple of years ago when he was passing out. Turned out, his heart was pausing and he needed a pace maker. I am assuming that my episodes do have something to do with the aftermath of the heart surgery. If it happens again, I will call the surgeon to discuss it further.

After the meeting with the lawyer, I worked at daycare for 2.5 hours, filing some of the children’s paperwork and helping in the office.

When I got home, I was tired and hungry. I ate leftovers from yesterday and did some computer stuff for about 45 minutes while it settled. I really just wanted to sit on the couch and relax, but my walking streak motivated me to go down to the basement for a slow treadmill walk while I watched parts of Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy. Trying to solve the puzzles and answer the questions makes the time pass fairly quickly.

I walked 2.0 miles in 36:22 min for a 3.3 mph pace.

What is your favorite thing to do to pass the time on the treadmill?

6 thoughts on “STREAKING IS MOTIVATING

  1. Oh dear, those episodes are scary! It nearly sounds like you were fainting. I hope you can get to the bottom of this if it happens again. Even better – it doesn’t happen again.

    A great way to spend time on the treadmill. I used to love watching Jeopardy whenever we were in the US. A physical and a mental workout!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yeah, I’m hoping it doesn’t happen again, but if it does, I will definitely try to get to the bottom of it. I love Jeopardy. Mom and I always talk right after to see if we could get Final Jeopardy. Usually not, but it’s a fun routine.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t like it that your doctor is so dismissive. If it continues, I think talking to your surgeon is a good idea. Hubby and I often wind down at night watching Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy too. They would be good for treadmill watching. Good for you for keeping your streak alive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment