TEMPTING FATE

It was sunny and 54°F (12°C) this afternoon, so I decided to tempt fate and take Tippy for a walk back in the field again. Fortunately, the wind had blown most of the day, drying out the top of the ground. I didn’t have to try to step around a mud puddle today, which was literally my downfall yesterday. I made it safely out and back.

I was tempted to stop at one mile, but decided on 30 minutes instead. I finished with driveway laps, ending with 1.75 miles in 29:53 minutes for a 3.5 mph pace.

One of the things I have been doing for the last year or so, to try to be healthier, is eat less processed food. I found a great cook book, Run Fast, Cook Fast, Eat Slow, written by Shalane Flanagan & Elyse Kopecky. Shalane won the 2017 NYC marathon, so she knows what she is talking about. I haven’t made many of their recipes yet, but the ones’ I have I really like. One of my favorites is honey granola. I haven’t had any for a couple of days, so I made a batch this morning before Facebook church. It is soooooo good. I could eat the entire batch, but that would probably mitigate any benefit I get from it.

Do you have a favorite healthy snack you keep on hand?

2 thoughts on “TEMPTING FATE

Leave a comment